Monday, January 2, 2017

Learn About "Researching for Science Fiction" by D L Richardson, Author of Welcome to the Apocalypse (Pandora, Book 1) #SciFi #Giveaway (Everyone is a Winner!!)


Please welcome author D L Richardson to the blog today!!

Researching for Science Fiction

January 2, 2107 is National Science Fiction Day. You can't be blamed for not knowing this since it isn't an official holiday, it's a day that group of sci-fi fans declared as THEIR day. This chosen date is associated with Isaac Asimov's birthday, who many credit as the father of science fiction. Fans celebrate National Science Fiction Day by reading books and watching movies. Dressing up as their favorite character is optional.

As a writer of speculative fiction who has, up until now, relied on the paranormal elements to tell the story, I'd like to celebrate the day by acknowledging the research that goes into sci-fi books and movies. My latest writing projects have no paranormal element for me to explain away why and how a certain scene is played out. Before, if I needed a character to levitate, I would have a magic spell and rely on the reader to suspend belief.

Science fiction is different. There is little room to suspend belief. In science fiction, anything that is impossible must have a possible explanation, something that can be tested and deemed as confirmed, plausible, or busted, yes just like on Mythbusters. If I need a character to levitate, I'd better have some scientific evidence to support that action or readers just won't buy it.

Possible explanations are achieved through research. And there is plenty of research being done in any area of the paranormal to debunk it or to get it off the ground. Just think of the military applications for any fantasy/paranormal element and you've got yourself the makings of a sci-fi novel.

Science fiction is about taking what is not possible now but could be possible in the future, and writing a story around it. Let's say you want to base a book in an underground city that's totally cut off from the rest of population. Readers are going to want to know how this city works - water, air, food, extraction of the smells due to so many people living in cramped condition. So you look to scientists who are already testing this type of design. In the case of the underground city, I went to NASA's website. They have to build a site that is self-sustaining for Mars conditions. And they're great at sharing information on how oxygen filtration systems work or how to recycle water and urine.

Growing food in an isolated city is another aspect that I relied on research for. I'm not a vegetable grower. My plants die within the first week. I'm guessing I'd need the opposite of my skill to grow a constant food source for an isolated city. Scientists are already building gardens underground using artificial light to grow plants. They're not doing this to give sci-fi authors writing material. They're doing these experiments because they are vital for the human race.

Science fiction often teaches us new things. Because science teaches us new things. And science has really become interesting to me lately, thanks to science fiction.


About the Book:

For fans of Robopocalypse, The Hunger Games, Ready Player One, World War Z

“Players. Welcome to the apocalypse…”

Kelly Lawrence is a grieving widow. Jack Minnow is a website designer. Reis Anderson is the son of a senator. Each of these players has their own reasons for signing up to The Apocalypse Games, a state of the art virtual game designed to entertain doomsday preppers, gamers, and cosplayers. Altogether, over 100 people enter NASA designed simulation pods and hook up to the mainframe computer with one goal: survive 24 hours of an apocalypse. Instead of game over at the end, they’re plugged straight into a new game. Then another. It’s clear the computer has malfunctioned. What’s not clear is why. With no communication to or from the outside operators, they can only fight endless battles and hope they’re rescued before it’s too late. While they can’t die inside the game, they can die if the pods break down while they’re still hooked up. This game of survival just got real.

Book Information:

Pages: 437 ebook / 416 print

ASIN: B01N01QFTQ
Digital ISBN: 9781370736201
Print ISBN: 9781539545699

Release date: November 21, 2016

Genre: Apocalyptic Sci-Fi

Purchase Links:

Amazon US

Amazon AU

Amazon UK

Amazon CA

Meet the Author:

D L Richardson is an author of paranormal books for teens, and author of apocalyptic and dystopian sci-fi books for adults. Lover of coffee, music, and animals. Lives in Australia with her husband and dog.

Contact the Author:

Website

Facebook

Twitter

Google +

Blog

Everyone who leaves a comment (any polite conversation) below will automatically receive a pdf copy of "10 Tips to Survive the Apocalypse with Your Dog" by D L Richardson.  Make sure you leave your email address in the comments, too, so I know where to send your book!

Displaying 10 TIPS COVER.jpg

1 comment:

D L Richardson said...

Hi everyone,

So I made an oops and sent out a media kit a while back with 99c sale for national science fiction week but then I changed my mind on the promo because i have giveaways happening instead, and anyway...long story short "Welcome to the Apocalypse" will be on sale at Amazon for 99c for a very limited time. Out of this mistake comes good things for you. You get to buy the book for 99c. Don't delay, sale ends Sun 8 Jan.

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01N01QFTQ