Thursday, April 3, 2014

Review: The Closet (Summerset Tales, Book 1) by Jac Wright


Love is a battlefield. Who will get out of it alive?

Harry Duncan Wood runs a hotel in the historic city of Bath with his beautiful young wife. When he falls in love with Mill House, an old greystone farmhouse on the banks of river Avon among the soaring hills of Somerset, and sets about moving his family there, the first appearances of the cracks in the marriage take him by surprise. Is his wife seeing another man? Duncan needs to get to the bottom of the affairs for his own sanity. Sometimes, however, ignorance is bliss and will also keep everybody alive.

The Closet is written in the tradition of Charles Dickens' The Pickwick Papers and Thomas Hardy's Wessex Tales as the first in the collection of literary short fiction, but with an added element of suspense. It accompanies the first title in the author's full-length literary suspense series, The Reckless Engineer, published by Soul Mate Publishing, New York.
(Photo and synopsis courtesy of goodreads.com)

Book Details:

Kindle File Size: 945 KB 
Print Length: 48 pages 
Publisher: Midsummer Nights Artists (December 19, 2013) 
Sold by: Amazon Digital Services, Inc. 
Amazon Purchase Link:

Sapphyria's Review:

Harry Duncan Wood runs a hotel in the historic city of Bath with his beautiful young wife. When he falls in love with Mill House, an old greystone farmhouse on the banks of river Avon among the soaring hills of Somerset, and sets about moving his family there, the first appearances of the cracks in the marriage take him by surprise. Is his wife seeing another man? Duncan needs to get to the bottom of the affairs for his own sanity. Sometimes, however, ignorance is bliss and will also keep everybody alive.

When Duncan suspects that his wife may be having an extramarital affair he sets the stage to obtain proof.  Setting himself up in the house to catch her, Duncan gets more than he bargained for.  Having inadvertently gotten himself locked in a closet, will Duncan be able to escape before a nefarious plan is carried out?

Although The Closet is a very short novella, it certainly packs a punch.  The build up of suspense is fantastic.  Duncan ends up in a less that comfortable position in his quest to catch his wife cheating on him.  What follows is a dramatic somewhat inner monologue as Duncan tries to figure out how he ended up in his situation.  He comes up with a plan that has a 50/50 chance of succeeding  He makes alternate arrangements just in case the plan fails.  The author keeps the reader in suspense all the way to the end.

The author uses wonderful descriptives throughout, but gets pretty flowery as some points.  In those cases, less really is more.  When sentences contain several adjectives and/or are overly detailed some readers are apt to skip those particular passages, potentially missing key points.  I didn't do that but I could see others moving beyond those sentences without a problem.

Review Copy Purchased on Amazon.

Sapphyria's Rating:


No comments: